Melbourne Jazz Co-Operative – 40th Anniversary Celebration

Melbourne Jazz Co-Operative

Presented by Melbourne Recital Centre & Melbourne Jazz Co-Operative


A once-in-a-lifetime gathering of Australian jazz talent in a program of all-original Australian works.

The Melbourne Jazz Co-operative is a not-for-profit organisation dedicated to supporting and promoting original live jazz performance by established and emerging artists in Melbourne.

About the concert

Their performance in Elisabeth Murdoch Hall features 30 leading contemporary jazz musicians from around the country, with some of the most-respected figures in Australian jazz – Mike Nock, Paul Grabowsky, Andrea Keller, Barney McAll, Sandy Evans, Scott Tinkler, Julien Wilson, Stephen Magnusson and more.

A specially formed 18-piece Orchestra will premiere Jumping Yaks, a four-part suite commissioned by Paul Grabowsky, and inspired by Beethoven’s 7th. Symphony, alongside works by Erkki Veltheim, Eugene Ball, Erik Griswold, and Niko Schauble.

The Melbourne Jazz Co-operative’s 40 years of continuous concert presentations has included 24 years at Bennetts Lane Jazz Club, founding the Melbourne Women’s Jazz Festival in 1997, and introducing jazz concerts into the Melbourne Festival. Join Melbourne Jazz Co-operative in celebrating this milestone.

‘The Melbourne Jazz Co-operative is an organisation that has played a crucial role in supporting Australian jazz over the past 40 years’ – Jessica Nicholas, The Age.

COVID Safety

Melbourne Recital Centre is committed to the safety of our artists, staff and patrons. A range of public health, hygiene and physical distancing measures are currently in place. Click here to learn more.


Melbourne Jazz Co-operative Ensemble
Vanessa Perica conductor
Lachlan Davidson saxophone
Tony Hicks saxophone
Sandy Evans saxophone
Julien Wilson saxophone
Mirko Guerrini saxophone
Erik Griswold piano
Paul Grabowsky piano
Andrea Keller piano
Barney McAll piano
Mike Nock piano
Paul Williamson trumpet
Eugene Ball trumpet
Ashley Ballat trumpet
Niko Schauble drums
Felix Bloxsom drums
James Macaualy trombone
Adrian Sherriff trombone
Stephen Magnusson guitar
Fran Swinn guitar
Sam Anning Double bass
Erkki Veltheim violin
Dan Gordon tuba
Vanessa Tomlinson percussion


Niko Schauble
Jumping Yaks: Movement 1

Eugene Ball
Jumping Yaks

Erkki Veltheim

Erik Griswold
Yak Attack!