MSE with Alexey Yemtsov

Melbourne String Ensemble

Presented by Melbourne String Ensembles


Acclaimed concert pianist Alexey Yemstov and Melbourne’s most dynamic young string players explore Bach to Kats-Chernin.

About the artists

Born in Ukraine, Alexey Yemtsov is one of the finest pianists of his generation in Australia, playing with powerful virtuosity, technical precision, and tender lyricism. He has performed in London, Tel Aviv and Jerusalem and toured extensively throughout China, Japan, Russia, Ukraine, Australasia and the United States. Alexey has appeared with the Melbourne, Queensland, West Australian and Tasmanian Symphony Orchestras with conductors such as Vladimir Ashkenazy, Oleg Caetani, Sir Mark Elder, Lawrence Foster, Marko Letonja, Vladimir Verbitsky and Simone Young.

A unique music group, the Melbourne String Ensemble (MSE) nurtures a lifelong love of music, developing musicianship in outstanding young players. Since 1985 the group has toured extensively and fostered the careers of many of Australia’s most exciting performers.

About the concert

The first in a series of collaborations featuring master soloists with Melbourne’s leading youth string ensemble, this concert presents Bach’s Keyboard Concerto in D minor, Kats-Chernin From Anna Magdalena’s Notebook, and concert favourites including Tchaikovsky and Rachmaninov.

Praise for Melbourne String Ensemble

‘The MSE is a gem in the Melbourne music scene. Their exquisite musicianship and dazzling technique are a sure sign that the future of music in this country is in fine hands.’ Dale Barltrop, MSO, ASQ

COVID Safety

Melbourne Recital Centre is committed to the safety of our artists, staff and patrons. A range of public health, hygiene and physical distancing measures are currently in place. Click here to learn more.


Alexey Yemtsov piano soloist
Melbourne String Ensemble (MSE) directed by Fintan Murphy
Junior Melbourne String Ensemble directed by Margaret Butcher


Elena Kats-Chernin
From Anna Magdalena’s Notebook

Intermediate & Junior Melbourne String Ensembles
select work

Johann Sebastian Bach
Keyboard Concerto in D minor, BWV 1052

Sergei Rachmaninov arr. Arcadi Volodos
‘Andante’ from Cello Sonata Op.19, for solo piano

Franz Liszt arr. Arcadi Volodos
Hungarian Rhapsody No.13, for solo piano

Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky
Andante Cantabile, from String Quartet in D Op. 11