Flinders Quartet – Musical Portraits

Flinders Quartet 2023

Presented by Flinders Quartet


‘To hear someone painted in sound is the most intimate portrait.’ Zoe Knighton

Shostakovich’s incredibly powerful String Quartet No.8 was officially dedicated ‘to the memory of the victims of fascism and war’ but there is much to suggest that Shostakovich meant it as a musical self-portrait.

Smetana’s String Quartet No.1 ‘From My Life’ is a different type of musical portrait, taking us on a vivid, programmatic journey through young love, and the devastation of tinnitus. In discussing these works, Flinders Quartet became curious about how a composer would capture their essence and commissioned Tasmanian composer Maria Grenfell to paint them in sound. It will be illuminating for Flinders Quartet to perform their very own musical portrait for audiences and look into the musical mirror to see themselves in music.

Caring for Our Community

Melbourne Recital Centre is committed to the safety of our artists, staff and patrons. A range of public health, hygiene and physical distancing measures are currently in place. Click here to learn more.


Cameron Hill violin
Wilma Smith violin
Helen Ireland viola
Zoe Knighton cello


Dmitri Shostakovich
String Quartet No.8 in C minor, Op.110

Maria Grenfell
New Work – Commissioned by Flinders Quartet

Bedřich Smetana
String Quartet No.1 in E ‘From My Life’


This production is part of the following series: