SFJAZZ Collective


Presented by Melbourne International Jazz Festival


SFJAZZ Collective make its Australian debut at MIJF.

Founded by SFJAZZ (San Francisco) in 2004, the SFJAZZ Collective has been dubbed ‘contemporary jazz’s premier all-star band’ by the New York Times and has welcomed over 30 world-class players over the years, championing jazz as an ever-relevant and evolving art form.

Currently, under the musical direction of acclaimed saxophonist Chris Potter, this incredible seven-piece ensemble also includes David Sánchez on tenor saxophone, Mike Rodriguez on trumpet, Warren Wolf on vibraphone, pianist Edward Simon, bassist Matt Brewer, and drummer Kendrick Scott.

About the concert

To celebrate 20 years as a working ensemble, the supergroup will perform a landmark Anniversary program that both honours the history of the group and looks ahead to its future – performing a new suite collectively composed by the ensemble and revisiting past compositions and arrangements from its innovative repertoire.

Don’t miss your chance to see this singular lineup of jazz masters celebrate two illustrious decades of exceptional music.

With Special Guest

SFJAZZ Collective will be supported by Louisa Rankin Septet.

Caring for Our Community

Melbourne Recital Centre is committed to the safety of our artists, staff and patrons. A range of public health, hygiene and physical distancing measures are currently in place. Click here to learn more.


Chris Potter music director, tenor saxophone, winds
David Sánchez tenor saxophone
Mike Rodriguez- trumpet
Edward Simon piano
Matt Brewer bass
Warren Wolf vibraphone
Kendrick Scott drums

Set Times

7.30pm – 8.05pm: Louisa Rankin Septet
8.05pm – 8.30pm: Interval
8.30pm – 10pm: SFJazz Collective


This production is part of the following series: