Alex Raineri – The Firebird

Alex Raineri

Presented by Melbourne Recital Centre & Alex Raineri


A solo recital of blistering pianism and vivid colour.

Award-winning artist Alex Raineri returns with a solo recital of blistering pianism and vivid colour. Praised by Limelight as a ‘a soloist of superb virtuosic skill and musicality’, Raineri’s recital showcases beloved masterpieces by Stravinsky and Rachmaninoff, alongside four captivating works by talented Naarm-based composers.

About the concert

Opening with one of the most famous gestures in the piano repertoire, Rachmaninoff’s Piano Sonata No.2 distils the sweeping romanticism and grand sentiment for which the composer is so well loved. Featuring three movements, the Sonata is cyclical in nature and is bound by recurring musical motifs, making it an extraordinary experience. Raineri commissioned works by Elliott Gyger, Lisa Cheney, Liza Lim, and Michael Bakrnčev to create musical miniatures that reflect cultural identity, resulting in a celebration of the multiculturalism that pervades the Australian arts landscape. Closing with Stravinsky’s masterpiece, The Firebird takes audiences on a thrilling journey based on ancient Russian folk tales. Don’t miss the stunning pianism of Alex Raineri in a powerful solo recital in the Primrose Potter Salon.

Praise for Alex Raineri

‘Alex Raineri is a gifted and very fine pianist, technically accomplished with first-rate attention to detail.’ – Limelight

‘…a brilliant young musician who presents with enthralling musicianship and interpretation.’ – Otago Times

‘A born communicator…’ – The Australian

Caring for Our Community

Melbourne Recital Centre is committed to the safety of our artists, staff and patrons. A range of public health, hygiene and physical distancing measures are currently in place. Click here to learn more.


Alex Raineri piano


Sergei Rachmaninoff
Piano Sonata No.2 in B-flat minor, Op.36

Michael Bakrnčev

Elliott Gyger
time line

Lisa Cheney
Tracing Ghosts

Liza Lim
‘Autumn’ from The Four Seasons

Igor Stravinsky – arr. Guido Agosti
The Firebird Suite


This production is part of the following series: