The University of Melbourne Symphony Orchestra Concert: Romeo and Juliet

University of Melbourne Symphony Orchestra 2

Presented by Melbourne Conservatorium of Music


The University of Melbourne Symphony Orchestra presents masterpieces from Prokofiev, Strauss and more.

The University of Melbourne Symphony Orchestra’s second concert of the year culminates with excerpts from Sergei Prokofiev’s masterpiece, Romeo and Juliet. Though Prokofiev originally had Romeo and Juliet ‘living happily ever after’, that version was never performed and the composer was soon persuaded to revert to Shakespeare’s tragic ending.

Prokofiev compiled a series of three orchestral suites but none of them follow the narrative arc of the plot. Conductor, Richard Davis, has handpicked his own selection that follows the story chronologically, from the listener first being introduced to the 13-year-old Juliet right up to her untimely death.

Before the interval, Lyndon Watts will be joining us to play Matt Laing’s Of Paradise Lost (after Milton) for Bassoon and Orchestra. Originally written in two movements, this will be the first performance of a newly revised, one movement version. The concert will open with Richard Strauss’s opulent: Rosenkavalier Suite.

COVID Safety

Melbourne Recital Centre is committed to the safety of our artists, staff and patrons. A range of public health, hygiene and physical distancing measures are currently in place. Click here to learn more.


Richard Davis conductor
Lyndon Watts bassoon soloist


Richard Strauss
Rosenkavalier Suite

Matt Laing perf. Lyndon Watts
Of Paradise Lost for Bassoon and Orchestra

Sergei Prokofiev
Romeo and Juliet