Vanessa Perica Orchestra

Vanessa Perica

Presented by Melbourne International Jazz Festival


The Eye is the First Circle.

Award-winning composer, arranger and conductor Vanessa Perica has quickly become one of the most exciting voices in Australian jazz.

Premiering her new album at MIJF 2023, Perica’s dynamic and exhilarating 18-piece ensemble features some of Australia’s finest jazz musicians – hailing from Melbourne, Sydney, Adelaide and Perth – and including Jamie Oehlers, Julien Wilson, Ben Vanderwal, Mat Jodrell and Andrea Keller. Together, this formidable jazz orchestra unites to bring to life original compositions by one of the country’s most innovative jazz talents.

Perica’s debut album, Love is a Temporary Madness, was met with widespread acclaim – named one of the best Australian albums of 2020 by The Guardian, winner of the Best Jazz Album at the Music Victoria Awards, ‘Work of the Year’ at the APRA Art Music Awards and Australian Jazz Bell Awards, and nominated for the prestigious Australian Music Prize.

Supported by NY-based pianist Matthew Sheens, whose genre-bending style and limitless technique have seen him showered in accolades worldwide, this is an evening not to be missed.

With Special Guest

Vanessa Perica Orchestra will be supported by Matthew Sheens.

Caring for Our Community

Melbourne Recital Centre is committed to the safety of our artists, staff and patrons. A range of public health, hygiene and physical distancing measures are currently in place. Click here to learn more.


Vanessa Perica composer, conductor
Carl Mackey soprano, alto saxophone
Tessie Overmyer alto saxophone
Julien Wilson tenor saxophone, clarinet
Jamie Oehlers tenor saxophone
Tim Stocker baritone saxophone
Wendy Clarke flute
Mat Jodrell trumpet
Daniel Beasy trumpet
Paddy McMullin trumpet
Paul Williamson trumpet
Jordan Murray trombone
Nick Mulder trombone
Thomas Voss trombone
Joe O’Callaghan bass trombone
Theo Carbo guitar
Andrea Keller piano
Sam Anning double bass
Ben Vanderwal drums
Matthew Sheens piano
Hugh Stuckey guitar
Tim Firth drums

Set Times

7.30pm – 8.05pm: Matthew Sheens
8.05pm – 8.30pm: Interval
8.30pm – 9.45pm: Vanessa Perica Orchestra


This production is part of the following series: