Australian Chamber Orchestra – Beethoven's Emperor

Beethoven's Emperor

Presented by Australian Chamber Orchestra


Step into the concert hall of Beethoven’s time in this joyful celebration directed by pianist Kristian Bezuidenhout.

The Australian Chamber Orchestra is one of the most acclaimed chamber orchestras in the world and is renowned for their inspired programming, unrivalled virtuosity, energy and individuality. Under the direction of Artistic Director Richard Tognetti, they take audiences on the adventure to create truly transformative experiences.

Pianist Kristian Bezuidenhout returns to the ACO to direct this celebratory concert from the fortepiano, with Beethoven’s most beloved work at its heart. A longtime friend of the ACO,
Bezuidenhout has a special affinity for historical instruments. He relishes the challenge of their foibles and fickleness, coaxing out a sound the composer would have recognised. For a modern
audience, it’s an enlightening experience. Beethoven untamed.

Joining the ACO are wind and brass players from the world’s leading period-instrument orchestras, handpicked by Bezuidenhout to recreate Beethoven’s soundworld.

Choose this program because you love Beethoven, but don’t be surprised to find yourself hearing his music as though for the first time.

Australian Chamber Orchestra is a Key Presenting Partner at Melbourne Recital Centre. For more information on the Centre’s Key Presenting Partners see here.

Travel Disruptions

Please note, planned protest events may cause disruption to public transport and the road network in and around the CBD on Saturday 16 March. As this may impact your visit to the Centre, please ensure you plan ahead, to allow enough time to arrive and be seated by the start time.

Caring for Our Community

Melbourne Recital Centre is committed to the safety of our artists, staff and patrons. A range of public health, hygiene and physical distancing measures are currently in place. Click here to learn more.


Kristian Bezuidenhout Director, fortepiano
Australian Chamber Orchestra


Ludwig Van Beethoven
Piano Concerto No.5 ‘Emperor’

Louise Farrenc
Symphony No.3: I. Adagio – Allegro

Franz Schubert
Impromptu in B-flat
Rosamunde: Entr’acte No.3

Britta Byström
A Walk to Beethoven’s First Symphony – Australian Premiere

Ludwig Van Beethoven arr. Franz Liszt
Symphony No.1 (excerpt)

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Piano Concerto No.20: III. Allegro assai (Cadenza by Beethoven)


This production is part of the following series: