Omega Ensemble – Échappsodie

Omega Ensemble: Échappsodie

Presented by Omega Ensemble


French delights and modern beauty.

As one of the leading exponents of musical Impressionism, Debussy’s music represents an extraordinarily beautiful palette of colour and harmonic innovation. Commissioned by the Paris Conservatoire the Premiere Rhapsodie was originally a ‘Solo de Concours’ (competition solo) written to test the virtuosic abilities of students at the Conservatoire.

Laden with emotional melodies and rich textures, Gabriel Fauré’s Piano Quintet No. 1 is an expressive work that highlights a groundbreaking change in French chamber music.

A rising star in both her native Australia and current home in Paris, Alice Chance’s Échappsodie (a made-up word using the French verb échapper — ‘to escape’) takes fragments of Debussy’s Premiere Rhapsodie and constructs them into a colourful masterclass of virtuosity for clarinet and ensemble.

Caring for Our Community

Melbourne Recital Centre is committed to the safety of our artists, staff and patrons. A range of public health, hygiene and physical distancing measures are currently in place. Click here to learn more.


Omega Ensemble
David Rowden clarinet
Peter Clark violin
Natalia Harvey violin
Neil Thompson viola
Paul Stender cello
Vatche Jambazian piano


Claude Debussy
Premiere Rhapsodie

Gabriel Fauré
Piano Quintet No. 1

Alice Chance
Échappsodie – World Premiere.
New arrangement by the composer commissioned by Omega Ensemble.


This production is part of the following series: