Penny Quartet – INPOUR

Penny Quartet

Presented by Melbourne Recital Centre & Penny Quartet


Step into the vibrant and eclectic world of string quartet repertoire.

Penny Quartet has gained a reputation as an ambitious and multifaceted voice in Australian chamber music. Fueled by a passion for both core quartet repertoire and the exploration of new and innovative works, they are celebrated for their high-energy performances, paired with a creative, diverse, and thoughtful approach to programming.

Returning to the intimate Primrose Potter Salon, Penny Quartet presents a compelling program featuring three evocative works. Opening with the heart-wrenching movement ‘II. Espressivo with Wonder and Yearning’ by Jamaican composer Eleanor Alberga, this immersive composition draws listeners in with its simmering, slow-burning tension. The evening takes an introspective and resolute turn with Dmitri Shostakovich’s String Quartet No.11, an emotionally charged masterpiece that mirrors the composer’s personal and artistic turmoil. This enthralling evening will conclude with the world premiere of an exciting new work commissioned by Melbourne Recital Centre and the Melbourne Conservatorium of Music, written by Australian composer Kym Alexandra Dillon.

The Melbourne Recital Centre/Melbourne Conservatorium of Music Composition Award was made possible from 2016 – 2019 with the support Majlis Pty Ltd, and from 2020 with the support of Ms Jane Kunstler.

Praise for Penny Quartet

‘…an ambitious and multifaceted voice in Australian chamber music’ – Classic Melbourne

Caring for Our Community

Melbourne Recital Centre is committed to the safety of our artists, staff and patrons. A range of public health, hygiene and physical distancing measures are currently in place. Click here to learn more.


Liisa Pallandi violin
Madeleine Jevons violin
Anthony Chataway viola
Jack Ward cello


Eleanor Alberga
String Quartet No.1

Kym Dillon
New Work

Dmitri Shostakovich
String Quartet No.11 in F minor, Op.122


This production is part of the following series: