Joyce Yang

Joyce Yang

Presented by Piano+


Grammy-nominated pianist of extraordinary range, depth, and charisma, Joyce Yang returns to Australia by popular demand.

Joyce Yang has been lauded by the Washington Post for her ‘poetic and sensitive pianism’ and described by the New York Times as a ‘knockout’.

From early and auspicious beginnings in her native Seoul, Joyce Yang’s superb musicianship, brilliance, and sheer joy have endeared her to audiences and critics all over the world.

Among many international engagements, she has appeared with the New York Philharmonic, Chicago Symphony, Los Angeles Philharmonic, The Philadelphia Orchestra, San Francisco Symphony, Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin, Hong Kong Philharmonic, BBC Philharmonic, and the Toronto, Vancouver, Sydney, Melbourne, and New Zealand Symphony orchestras.

Piano+ is delighted to present this phenomenal musician in a program of works by Tchaikovsky (selections from The Seasons Op. 37a), Rachmaninoff (Three Preludes from Op. 32 and 23) and Stravinsky (The Firebird Suite), followed by Modest Mussorgsky’s Pictures at an Exhibition. This suite, with its masterful emotional trajectory, is the perfect canvas for this extraordinary artist.

Caring for Our Community

Melbourne Recital Centre is committed to the safety of our artists, staff and patrons. A range of public health, hygiene and physical distancing measures are currently in place. Click here to learn more.


Pyotr Tchaikovsky
Selections from The Seasons Op. 37a

Sergei Rachmaninoff
from 13 Preludes Op.32
No.10 in B minor
No.12 in G# minor

from 10 Preludes Op.23
No.4 in D

Igor Stravinsky / Guido Agosti
Three movements from The Firebird

Modest Mussorgsky
Pictures at an Exhibition


This production is part of the following series: