Omega Ensemble – Re: Classical

Omega Ensemble: Re: Classical

Presented by Omega Ensemble


The past reconsidered and present reconfigured.

An important and exciting musical voice for her generation, Jessie Montgomery’s music interweaves classical traditions with vernacular music, improvisation, and social consciousness. Her works have been described as ‘turbulent, wildly colorful and exploding with life.’ – The Washington Post

Arguably Australia’s most celebrated and successful composer, Elena Kats-Chernin’s Ornamental Air is a tour-de-force packed with virtuosic arpeggios and explosions of colour. Originally premiered by clarinetist Michael Collins, this updated version has been reimagined for Omega Ensemble.

One of the highest-selling classical music records of all time, acclaimed UK composer and innovator Max Richter’s contemporary masterwork expertly retouches and reimagines Vivaldi’s The Four Seasons, resulting in a transformative experience that sounds entirely new, and yet satisfyingly full of familiar delights.

Pre-Concert Talk

Join Omega Ensemble for a pre-concert talk on the Foyer Stage from 6pm – 6.45pm.

Caring for Our Community

Melbourne Recital Centre is committed to the safety of our artists, staff and patrons. A range of public health, hygiene and physical distancing measures are currently in place. Click here to learn more.


David Rowden clarinet solo
Veronique Serret violin solo
Omega Ensemble


Jessie Montgomery
New Work – World Premiere

Elena Kats-Chernin
Ornamental Air

Max Richter
The Four Seasons Recomposed


This production is part of the following series: