Australian Chamber Orchestra – Silence & Rapture

Silence & Rapture

Presented by Australian Chamber Orchestra


A mesmerising collaboration with Sydney Dance Company featuring countertenor Iestyn Davies and the music of Johann Sebastian Bach and Arvo Pärt.

The Australian Chamber Orchestra is one of the most acclaimed chamber orchestras in the world and is renowned for their inspired programming, unrivalled virtuosity, energy and individuality. Under the direction of Artistic Director Richard Tognetti, they take audiences on the adventure to create truly transformative experiences.

Composing three centuries apart, Johann Sebastian Bach and Arvo Pärt’s timeless music speaks to the human soul. From rockstars and writers to artists and filmmakers, these composers are revered by music lovers across genres and generations. The last time the ACO performed their music together, it was a sell-out.

Richard Tognetti directs this mesmerising collaboration between the ACO and Sydney Dance Company that brings together music, movement and evocative lighting to create something truly extraordinary.

Expressing the luminous longing at the heart of this music is choreography from Rafael Bonachela, Artistic Director Sydney Dance Company, while Gramophone Award-winning countertenor Iestyn Davies, whose performances have been described as ‘a pleasure that verges on the sublime’ (The Guardian) makes his Australian debut, bringing these stirring melodies to life.

Bach and Pärt’s music is rooted in human experience while reaching towards the divine. This program promises to be a season highlight and a deeply affirming experience.

Australian Chamber Orchestra is a Key Presenting Partner at Melbourne Recital Centre. For more information on the Centre’s Key Presenting Partners see here.

Caring for Our Community

Melbourne Recital Centre is committed to the safety of our artists, staff and patrons. A range of public health, hygiene and physical distancing measures are currently in place. Click here to learn more.


Richard Tognetti Director, violin
Lestyn Davies countertenor
Stefanie Farrands viola
Timo-Veikko Valve cello
Chad Kelly organ, harpsichord

Rafael Bonachela Choreographer & Artistic Director, Sydney Dance Company
Artists from Sydney Dance Company
Australian Chamber Orchestra


Johann Sebastian Bach
Kanon zu acht Stimmen, BWV1072

Arvo Pärt
Collage über B-A-C-H: I. Toccata

Garden of Eden
Johann Sebastian Bach
Cantata ‘Wiederstehe doch des Sunde’, BWV54: Aria ‘Wer Sünde tut, der ist vom Teufel’
Sonata for Violin and Keyboard in A: I. Dolce
Cantata ‘Ich bin ein guter Hirt’, BWV85: Aria ‘Jesus ist ein guter Hirt’

Arvo Pärt

Garden of Gethsemane
Johann Sebastian Bach
Sonata for Solo Violin No.2 in A minor: III. Andante
St Matthew Passion: “Erbarme Dich”

Arvo Pärt
Für Lennart in memoriam
My Heart’s in the Highlands

Garden of Heaven
Johann Sebastian Bach
Cantata ‘Der Herr denket an uns’, BWV196: Sinfonia

Arvo Pärt
Vater unser

Johann Sebastian Bach
Cello Suite No.3 in C: I. Prelude
Magnificat: ‘Et exultavit’

Into Silence
Arvo Pärt
Pari intervallo

Johann Sebastian Bach
The Art of Fugue: Fuga a 3 Soggetti (unfinished)

Paul Hindemith
Trauermusik: IV. Sehr langsam


This production is part of the following series: